Naish mast, is it a noodle?

Forums Gear Reviews and Advice Naish mast, is it a noodle?

Participant

That mast looks light and flexy like a noodle. Anyone have an opinion?

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Replies
    FLFOILER
    Participant

I had a naish XL on my sup and I could feel a lot of the flex. Went to Neil Pryde and it felt much better then to Axis and I haven’t found anything to compare in stiffness. The less stiff the mast, the less time I could stay out sup’ing. Probly not much of an issue if you’re proning.

Kane DW

Just rode the 2021 mast a few days ago and yes pretty flexible.

FoilFrother
    Participant

There’s been a fair few bent Naish masts around here in the past year since I stared foiling.
    I never noticed the flex, but I was a full beginner while I was on Naish.

TooMuchEpoxy
    Participant

Yeah, the 19M wide axis mast is really close in specs to the old orange LF mast i’m using. It seems like to get the appropriate stiffness it needs to be heavier (NP, Slingshot) or wider(axis, my old LF). Asking for a friend who is considering moving to the naish setup i’ll probably just mill him a fuselage for the naish HA wing that matches his slingshot mast.

crissy
    Participant

I’ve found the 2021 mast relatively stiff; I think that the connection between fuselage and mast seems to be the weaker link. There is a bit of flex at that joint. I’ve notice while winging this setup (1240HA Front Wing, HA280 Stab, 64cm Fuselage, 95cm mast) that on a tight reach the foil seems to temporarily wash out/slideout. It’s generally accompanied by a sucking sound at the water level. It could be my stance but I wonder if it’s the fuselage twisting relative to mast? Anyone else experienced this phenomena?

TooMuchEpoxy
    Participant