Ground effect (aerodynamics)

Forums SUP Foiling Ground effect (aerodynamics)

Participant

This might be too deep of a subject,But,,,,, I was a hang glider pilot for many years. (and survived, LOL). Experiencing “ground Effect” almost every time I would come to a landing. To put it brief and unprofessional. When flying fast and close to the ground, wing vortices would compress under my wing and extend glide and speed. (Maybe google the subject for more details and understanding.)
    But my question is why does my glide and speed seem to be most efficient when the foil is near to the water surface, just on the verge of breaching.
    Is there a type of “Ground effect” occuring with the undersurface of the water? Wing vortices being compressed with the ceiling of the water to the top of front wing? I can’t imagine that just the mast being out of the water by inches would be the complete reason. But maybe?
    Maybe someone with hydrodynamics under their belt can chime in.
    Thanks
    Johnny

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Replies
    Kane DW

Yeah there’s a pretty big surface effect within 6in or so of the surface. Could be a few things. Near the surface there’s less water being moved over the top of the wing, less lift and drag. At around 13-15mph most wings are operating at 1-3 degrees aoa, lots of profiles have peak l/d at around 5 degrees so less lift might increase the Aoa of the wing bringing it closer to peak efficiency. This is just a guess though. I’ll bet the surface decreases the strength of the tip vortices too.

I’ve been in ground effect on a foil and it’s hard to explain but it feels a little different. Maybe more glide and less of a “speed boost”

nesterg
    Participant